Looking for something specific? Use our search engine!

Orientation week and tutors

Orientation Week for Incoming Exchange Students

The orientation programme is mandatory for all incoming exchange students at Åbo Akademi University. Students arriving late cannot be guaranteed the same service.

The orientation programme gives you useful information about the university, your studies, student services, as well as some cultural insights. During the orientation course you will also register at the university, register for courses, meet the tutors and all the other exchange students.

When is it?

The orientation programme during the autumn semester is always the last week of August. 

The orientation programme during the spring semester is always the first week of January.


Academic year 2021-2022

The orientation programme for incoming exchange students for the Autumn 2021 semester AND the Full Academic year will be 23.08.2021 – 27.08.2021. 

The orientation programme for incoming exchange students for the Spring 2022 semester will be 03.01.2022- 07.01.2022.


The final orientation week programme

The final orientation programme is always uploaded here a few weeks before the orientation week.

Orientation programme and COVID-19

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic we have organized the previous 2 orientation weeks virtually. All exchange students have taken part from their student accommodations in Finland and the programme has been a mixture of pre-recoded videos and live sessions via Zoom.

Due to the ongoing restrictions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to organize the upcoming orientation programme for the Autumn 21 semester virtually.


Student tutors

All exchange students will have a student tutor, a fellow student at Åbo Akademi University, to help with practical matters when settling in and as a contact during the exchange period. The tutors will usually be in contact with incoming exchange students 3-4 weeks before arrival (if you have given us permission to share your contact details) or you will meet your tutor during the orientation programme.

The tutors work on a voluntary basis and have been trained for their task. Each tutor leads a group of 3-6 exchange students, and the group meets often at the beginning of the semester and at regular intervals during the stay. The assistance of a fellow student is invaluable in particular at the beginning of the study period.

Updated 15.3.2021