Looking for something specific? Use our search engine!

Press release

Press release

Prizes awarded at the Opening Ceremony for the Academic Year 2021–2022 at Åbo Akademi University

The following prizes and scholarships were awarded at the opening ceremony:

From the fund of Harry Elving:

Prizes for researchers

PhD (Psych.) Allessandro Tadei receives 5 000 euros for his dissertation in psychology titled The Finnish Investigative Instrument of Child Sexual Abuse. Machine Learning Applied to Criminal Investigations.

D.Sc. (Tech) Adriana Freites Aguilera receives 5 000 euros for her dissertation in Industrial Chemistry and Reaction Engineering titled Epoxidation of vegetable oils – Process intensification for biomass conversion.

Teacher of the year

The prize for Teacher of the year is awarded to Åsa Jakas, lecturer in Business Economics. The prize sum is 5 000 euros.

Supervisor of the year

This year the Supervisor of the year award is awarded to two supervisors, based on student feedback: D.Soc.Sc Patrik Söderberg, University Teacher in Social Sciences, and PhD Pirkko Rautakoski, Docent in Logopedics. The prize is 1 500 euros.


Furthermore, Åbo Akademi University awards two students that “have shown good study results while also working for the good of Åbo Akademi University”. This year the 1 000 euros student scholarship is given to Julia Liewendahl and Matias Martelin.