Looking for something specific? Use our search engine!



Four young award winners standing with diplomas in their hands.
The winners of The Baltic Sea Science Day 2019 Award. Pinja Näkki, Savitri Jetoo, Emiliya Popova and Andris Bērziņš. Photo credits: Colortime

The Baltic Sea Science Day Award to Savitri Jetoo at Åbo Akademi

The final conference for the Baltic Science Network (BSN) and the CBSS Annual Baltic Sea Science Day was held on the occasion of the centenary of the University of Latvia, in Riga on 22–23 February 2019.

At the conference the Baltic Sea Science Day Award 2019 was granted four scientists, of which one, Savitri Jetoo, is a researcher at Åbo Akademi University.

This was the launch of the award, which was presented to celebrate the achievements of young promising minds doing research on the topics of great importance to the Baltic Sea Region.

The Baltic Sea Science Day 2019 Award was presented to Pinja Näkki (University of Helsinki), Emiliya Popova, Andris Bērziņš and Savitri Jetoo for an outstanding contribution to transnational research cooperation within the Baltic Sea Region and promotion of the CBSS Science, Research and Innovation Agenda.

Savitri Jetoo has worked with governance and law regarding water, sea and lakes for many years, and has published actively on the Baltic Sea and Great Lakes -theme. She has a PhD from McMaster University in Canada, with the dissertation Lessons to inform transboundary governance of the Laurentian Great Lakes. She also has a certificate in international water law from the UNESCO centre in Dundee, Scotland.

At the moment Jetoo works as a post-doc fellow at the department of Political Science at Åbo Akademi University, and within the university’s multi-disciplinary profiling area called ”The Sea”.

Jetoo received the award for transnational Baltic Sea research and for her comparative work, comparing the Baltic Sea key issues such as eutrophication, with other regions of the world (eg. Great Lakes and Chesapeake Bay). Also, her ability to form networks with scientists in other regions of the world contributed to winning the award.

To identify the best candidates for the award, the CBSS Secretariat engaged with its key partners Baltic Sea Region University Network, Baltic University Programme, as well as the Lead Partners of the cornerstones of the CBSS Science, Research and Innovation Agenda – Baltic Science Network, Ministry of Science, Research and Equalities of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and Baltic TRAM, DESY.

Baltic Science Network (BSN) is an Interreg Baltic Sea Region funded project, with the aim to provide science and research ministries of the Baltic Sea region states with an overall coordination framework to develop and implement science policy in a macro-regional dimension and to ensure a better representation of macro-regional interests on the EU level.

CBSS stand for The Council of the Baltic Sea States, and is an overall political forum for regional cooperation. CBSS consist of 11 member states. http://www.cbss.org/

The press release by CBSS on the award and the Baltic Sea Science Day.