Looking for something specific? Use our search engine!



Kim Strandberg and Kimmo Grönlund awarded for best article 

Kim Strandberg, Academy of Finland Research Fellow and Professor of Political Science at Åbo Akademi University, Kimmo Grönlund, Professor of Political Science at Åbo Akademi University, and Staffan Himmelroos, researcher in political science at the University of Helsinki (previously at Åbo Akademi University) are the winners of the 2020 Meisel-Laponce Award. 

The award is given every four years for the best article published in International Political Science Review (IPSR) in the previous four years 

Grönlund, Strandberg and Himmelroos are awarded for their article Do discussions in like-minded groups necessarily lead to more extreme opinions? Deliberative democracy and group polarization. 

The winning article was selected for itcontribution to political science and for dealing with issues of current political and theoretical importance, according to the IPSR press release. 

“The prize was a complete surprise and a great international acknowledgment of the research we conduct in deliberative democracy at Åbo Akademi University, says Kimmo Grönlund, who also is the director of the newly established Centre of Excellence in Public Opinion Research at Åbo Akademi University.

According to Kim Strandberg, the article is a testimony of the good research collaboration between democracy researchers at the Åbo Akademi University in Finland, the Nordic countries, Europe and the world. 

“One important partner is The Center for Deliberative Democracy at Stanford University, and renowned researcher James Fishkin, with whom we are currently planning new experiments in opinion research”, Strandberg says. 

The Meisel-Laponce Award was established in honour of John Meisel and Jean Laponce, the first two editors of IPSR. It is jointly sponsored by the International Political Science Association and SAGE Publications. This is the third time the award is given. It will be presented at the IPSA World Congress in Lisbon, in a ceremony on Tuesday 28 July 2020.

Read the winning article here: https://doi.org/10.1177%2F0192512117692136