Looking for something specific? Use our search engine!



The New Åbo Akademi University Board

The Åbo Akademi University Board for the period 1.1.2018–31.12.2020 is now complete.

On its meeting today the Collegial Body elected the external members of the board. They are:

D.Med.Sc. Marita Hilliges (b. 1963) Professor in neuroscience and since October 2017 Secretary-general of the Association of Swedish Higher Education (SUHF) in Sweden.

M.Sc. (Econ. & Bus.Adm.) Taru Narvanmaa (b. 1963) chairperson of the board of Puutarhaliike Helle, former Executive Vice President and member of the Executive Committee of Aktia Bank, CEO at Aktia Life Insurance, and Director of Communications and IR-relations at Raisio. Narvanmaa has been in the ÅAU Board since 2016.

PsychD Niklas Nordling (b. 1966) Head of Culture Transformation and Organization Development at Nokia. Nordling has been in the ÅAU Board since 2016.

LL.D. Thomas Wilhelmsson (b. 1949) Chancellor Emeritus and Rector Emeritus of the University of Helsinki, where he has also worked as Professor of Civil and Commercial Law.

The internal board members were elected 7.11.2017. They are:

From the category of professors:
Olav Eklund, Professor of Geology and Mineralogy
Elina Pirjatanniemi, Professor of Constitutional and International Law

From the category of researchers, teachers and other employees:
Mikaela Björklund, University teacher in didactics of foreign languages
Majlen Saarinen, Education Manager, Centre for Lifelong Learning

The student representatives were elected by the Student Union Parliament 24.10.2017 They are:
Rasmus Lindqvist, Student of political science
Milla Stenström, Student of Environmental biology

The chairperson of the university board was chosen among the external members on the board’s first meeting in the beginning of 2018. Chairperson is Thomas Wilhelmsson.